Book Review: Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes By Holly Bourne

Plot:

Welcome to Camp Reset, a summer camp with a difference. A place offering a shot at “normality” for Olive, a girl on the edge, and for the new friends she never expected to make – who each have their own reasons for being there. Luckily Olive has a plan to solve all their problems. But how do you fix the world when you can’t fix yourself?

Review:

BE KIND TO YOURSELF! And try your best to emphasise with others! ❤️

First time coming across this author. I honestly would not have picked up this novel as I am not used to the topics and so forth however I am so glad it was this month’s BookClub reads.

Yes, the main character was very annoying at times trying to understand her emotions but at times I really did try my best to understand her emotions.

A girl does not want to know her label, understandable. However she does not know why she does the things she does at times or understands her emotions. So, there’s this free opportunity to trial a CBT Camp. Honestly, I would have loved something like that at that age, it might have helped me grow more as a person to properly reflect 24/7 for a month in a different environment.

“I think real kindness, real compassion, is having the strength to stop and try and see where another person is coming from. To try and work out why they’re being the way they’re being. It takes time and patience. It’s not as easy, but that’s real kindness.”

The people we meet in this novel are all interesting. Even as an adult this novel takes you back and also helps you understand how your emotions can be so heightened sometimes but especially as a teenager the most dreadful and difficult time as you are coming of age.I really enjoyed this novel and I cannot wait to explore Holly’s other novels.

4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply